Super computing EXPERIENCES

Who we are

EuroCC@GCS is the German national centre of excellence for high-performance computing (HPC). We are the first point of contact for the German and European HPC scene and operate a network of scientists, providers and users of supercomputers - from industry to research.

Tasks of the NCC are diverse, including (but not limited to):

What is Hpc

PROCESSING HUGE AMOUNT OF DATA IN A SHORT TIME

HPC, or high performance computing, is a way of processing huge amount of data in a short time or executing complex calculations. The most common solution for HPC are supercomputers, which contain thousands of compute-nodes, which work parallel to solve the given task. High performance computing is fundamental for progress of any kind, since the analyses of data sets is crucial for solving most scientific or industrial problems. The performance of supercomputers is classified with their 'scale'. For example, petascale supercomputers can calculate at minimum 1015 calculations per second, while pre-exascale systems can perform at least 1017 Benefits of HPC for society are extensive, may it be new medicine developments, weather predictions, climate simulations or cybersecurity. The industry sector can also benefit from using supercomputers by employing them for example for reducing product design and production cycles, minimising costs and increasing resource efficiencies. And of course, HPC is a powerful tool for scientists, who can use supercomputers to make complex calculations with large amounts of data.

Project Description

EuroCC@GCS was founded in the course of the EU- and BMBF-funded EuroCC project, which brings together over 30 partners from Europe. The aim is to bring the participating European countries to a common high level in the fields of high-performance computing (HPC), high-performance data analytics (HPDA) and artificial intelligence (AI).

To this end, the EUROCC project will establish national competence centres (NCC) in the participating countries, which will be responsible for mapping the HPC, HPDA and AI activities of the individual countries. Making HPC available to different users – from science, industry, public administration and society – is a driving force behind this activity, which was funded under EUROHPC Joint Undertaking call in Horizon2020.

With the overall objective of EuroCC to create a European base of excellence in HPC by filling existing gaps, there is a clear vision: offering a broad portfolio of services in all HPC-related areas, tailored to the needs of industry, science and public administrations.

EuroCC works closely together with the Coordination and Support Action (CSA) CASTIEL to link the national centres throughout Europe and to ensure successful transfer between the participating countries.

The mission of the Coordination and Support Action CASTIEL is to contribute to the success of the activities of the EuroCC project, by promoting collaboration, knowledge and skills exchange. The network of 33 NCCs will identify and close gaps due to the diverse levels of maturity in HPC between the different nations. CASTIEL will setup a framework of activities that will support the evolution of each single National Competence Centre and enable them step by step to get closer together in terms of capabilities and expertise – via specialised Working Groups as well as Workshops and Trainings, thereby enabling exchange at the European level.

It's Quiz-Time!

Wie erfahren sind Sie mit HPC? Testen Sie unser neues Quiz und finden Sie es heraus!

Super computing EXPERIENCES

Wer wir sind

EuroCC@GCS ist das deutsche nationale Kompetenzzentrum für High-Performance Computing (HPC). Wir sind die erste Anlaufstelle für Kontakt zur deutschen und europäischen HPC-Szene und betreiben ein Netzwerk aus Wissenschaftler:innen, Anbieter:innen und Nutzer:innnen von Höchstleistungsrechnern – von der Industrie bis zur Forschung.

Aufgaben des Kompetenzzentrums sind unter anderem:

was ist hpc

DIE VERARBEITUNG GROSSER DATENMENGEN IN KURZER ZEIT

HPC, oder High-Performance-Computing, ist eine Möglichkeit sehr große Datenmengen in kurzer Zeit zu verarbeiten oder hochkomplexe Berechnungen durchzuführen. Die gängigsten Werkzeuge für HPC sind Supercomputer, die Tausende Rechenknoten enthalten, welche parallel zueinander arbeiten, um die gestellte Aufgabe zu erfüllen. Da die Analyse von Datensätzen für die meisten wissenschaftlichen Probleme unabdingbar ist, ist High-Performance-Computing Grundlage des Fortschritts. Die Leistung von Supercomputern wird nach ihrer “scale” klassifiziert. Zum Beispiel sind Petascale Supercomputer zu mindestens 1015 Rechenoperatione pro Sekunde fähig, während Pre-Exascale Systeme in der gleichen Zeit 1017 durchführen. Von der Medizinentwicklung über Wettervorhersagen zu Klimasimulation und Cybersicherheit – die Vorteile von HPC für die Zivilgesellschaft sind vielfältig. Auch die Industrie kann von Supercomputern profitieren, beispielsweise um Produktdesign- und Produktionszyklen zu verringern, Kosten zu minimieren und Ressourceneffizienzen zu steigern. Und selbstverständlich ist HPC ein mächtiges Werkzeug für Wissenschaftler, die damit komplexe Berechnungen und Datenanalysen durchführen können.

ProjeKtbeschreibung

EuroCC@GCS wurde im Zuge des EU- und BMBF-geförderten EuroCC-Projekts gegründet, das über 30 Partner aus Europa zusammenbringt. Ziel ist, die teilnehmenden europäischen Länder auf ein gemeinsam hohes Niveau in den Bereichen High-Performance-Computing (HPC), High-Performance-Data-Analysis (HPDA) und Künstliche Intelligenz (AI) zu bringen.

Um das zu erreichen, etabliert EuroCC nationale Kompetenzzentren (NCC) in den teilnehmenden Ländern. HPC für verschiedene Nutzer – aus Wissenschaft, Industrie, öffentlicher Verwaltung und Gesellschaft – verfügbar zu machen, ist eine treibende Kraft hinter dem Projekt, das im Rahmen von “EUROHPC Joint Undertaking” in Horizon2020 finanziert wurde.

Mit dem generellen Ziel von EuroCC, eine europäische Exzellenz für HPC durch schließen der Lücken zu erreichen, gibt es auch eine klare Vision: Das Angebot eines breiten Spektrums an Services für alle HPC-verwandte Bereiche, maßgeschneidert auf die Bedarfe von Industrie, Wissenschaft und dem öffentlichen Sektor.

EuroCC arbeitet sehr eng mit der Coordination and Support Action (CSA) CASTIEL zusammen, um die nationalen Kompetenzzentren durch Europa hinweg zu vernetzen und den erfolgreichen Austausch zwischen den teilnehmenden Ländern zu sichern.

Das Ziel der CSA CASTIEL ist, zum Erfolg von EuroCC beizutragen – durch die Förderung von Zusammenarbeit und Wissens- sowie Fähigkeitenaustausch. Das Netzwerk aus 33 NCCs identifiziert und schließt die Lücken, die sich durch verschiedene Erfahrungslevel ergeben. CASTIEL liefert einen Rahmen an Aktivitäten, der die Weiterentwicklung jedes einzelnen nationalen Kompetenzzentrums unterstützt und die Länder Schritt für Schritt näher zueinander bringt, auch im Bezug auf Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse. Um diesen europäischen Austausch zu ermöglichen, werden Arbeitsgruppen aus Spezialisten, Workshops und Trainings eingesetzt.

It's Quiz-Time!

Wie erfahren sind Sie mit HPC? Testen Sie unser neues Quiz und finden Sie es heraus!